Speech of Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Sabah on arrivals for the current year 2020
Speech of Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Sabah on arrivals for the current year 2020

The Kuwaiti Interior Ministry issued a surprise decision that shocked many expatriates in Kuwait and the citizens of 27 countries.

KUWAIT CITY - The Kuwaiti Interior Ministry on Monday morning announced a new decision by the Kuwaiti government to ban the recruitment of domestic workers from 25 African countries, as well as two Asian countries.

According to the Kuwaiti Interior Ministry, the decision covered Ivory Coast, Madagascar, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Burkina Faso, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Uganda, Nigeria, Togo, and Senegalese, Malawi, and Chad. Sierra Leone, Niger, Tanzania, Gambia, Ghana, Zimbabwe, Madagascar, Cameroon, Democratic Republic of Congo and Burundi, as well as two Asian countries, Indonesia and Bhutan. "

In this regard, this decision came at the request of the Kuwaiti Ministries of Foreign Affairs and Health and the General Directorate of Manpower.

According to the Kuwaiti newspaper "Al-Qabas", the new list, which canceled all the lists that preceded it, the removal of two countries from the list of preceding them, namely Eritrea and Liberia, while receiving transactions from eight countries are South Africa, Benin, males from Senegal, the Philippines, Ceylon, India, Vietnam and Nepal.
Domestic workers in Kuwait constitute about one-third of the total expatriate labor force.The number of workers at the end of the second quarter of 2019 amounted to about 724 thousand workers, distributed equally among males of about 354 thousand workers, and females of about 370 thousand workers.